The Forest of Dean Verderers

800 years of history

Current Verderers

R W Jenkins - Verderer

R.W. Jenkins Esq JP       Elected 24 July 1992
Mr Jenkins is managing director of a local automotive business and has been actively involved in serving the Forest, most recently through his work as a magistrate. He is a Dean Forest Inclosure Commissioner. He lives in Christchurch.

Ian Standing - Verderer

Ian J Standing BDS MA MUSMS Dip       Elected 29 November 2011
Mr Standing is a past curator of the Dean Heritage Museum. His research and publications have included the Forest’s veteran trees and many aspects of its woodland and industrial history. He is an active campaigner to keep the Forest in public ownership. He is also a Dean Forest Inclosure Commissioner.

Richard Daniels - Verderer

Richard Gough Daniels MBE       Elected 15 February 2017
Mr Daniels is an active Freeminer and summer tour guide at Hopewell Colliery. He is Chairman of the Royal Forest of Dean Freeminers Association and an active campaigner for keeping the Forest in public ownership. He takes a keen interest in the heritage, history and dialect spoken in the Forest. In 2015, he was awarded an MBE for services to the Forest of Dean and to forestry throughout the UK.

Sue Middleton - Verderer

Sue Middleton BSc       Elected 1 March 2022
Sue Middleton has been the Programme Manager for Foresters’ Forest (a National Lottery Heritage Funded Landscape Partnership Programme) from 2015 – 2022, so she has learnt a lot about the Forest’s natural, built and cultural heritage during that time. She is the Vice Chair of the Forest of Dean Local History Society and has a desire to help more people understand why our Forest is such a special place.